Living in a time warp

You can tell this isn't me, because I'm blond, and wasn't born when this photo was taken, and I have a swollen foot, plus I try to never be photographed fondling televisions....

So I’m out of the walking cast, which is lovely.  Because?  Walking cast?  Not so great for walking in.  Which means I’ve watched a whole lot of television the last few weeks.

Three cheers for Tivo.  Keeping me from having to watch cable “news” or daytime television.

Of course it also keeps me in a constant state of confusion.  Because of the little snippets of news they throw in on the commercial breaks (um, I guess those would be the commercials for the news…)  Where they talk about the huge storm that is about the hit, and how much rain we’re about to have.  And how it might hit eighty degrees tomorrow.  And how this movie is not yet rated, but will be out in January.  Because I have shows from last year on my Tivo.

I keep having to log on to check the news… the weather… the date….  At first it felt like I was time traveling, but eventually it just felt like I was going crazy.

But anyway, I have the walking cast off now.  And?  Still watching a ton of tv. Because not wearing the boot doesn’t actually mean I’m all better.  I know this because I was wild and crazy and walked around the block today, and now my foot is swollen up.  Again.

And this is the part where I’m supposed to write something pithy, so I sound like the sort of intelligent witty woman you want to invite to your next party.  Because you’re pretty sure I’ve got some fabulous stories, and will probably bring a nice bottle of wine.  And then I wrap it up, and you think, wow, I’m glad I stopped by.

So lets just pretend I wrote that, and didn’t end by saying  Ow!  My foot hurts.  Why is no one bringing me chocolate and an ice-pack?  And, what the hell, why are they running Christmas ads in May, what is wrong with these people?

About woodenmonkey

Just your average solar powered, hybrid driving, organic eating, happily married, pro-choice, feminist Christian artist and writer from San Francisco.

Posted on May 19, 2011, in ouch. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I just wanted to let you know that you got a prize.
    Check out last post on my blog
    🙂
    http://www.mominrome.com/?p=370

Leave a Reply

