Boundaries people.

Random fact: when you are sitting in a wheelchair, talking to people who are standing up, it dramatically increases the chances of them catching a glimpse of your bra. Related fact: I've been wearing nicer bras the last few weeks. Not that I'm the kind of gal that wants people taking a peek at the undies. But if they are, I want to look stylin'.

So I’m at a party last night, when a woman I’ve never met before says hi, and then leans down and pulls back my hair by my left ear.  I think she’s checking out my earing.  But no, she has pulled back my hair to check out my necklace.  That’s ok.

But then she complements my necklace, my lace bra, and my boobs.

Um.  Weird social moment.  Miss Manners doesn’t seem to cover this.

So I say the first thing that comes into my head.  “Thanks.  I grew them myself.”

Being in a wheelchair is weird.

About woodenmonkey

Just your average solar powered, hybrid driving, organic eating, happily married, pro-choice, feminist Christian artist and writer from San Francisco.

Posted on August 21, 2011, in ouch, people baffle me. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. That’s hilarious! (oh, and what a pretty bra that is. I don’t typically care about fashionable bra’s but that one could be an exception.)

Leave a Reply

