Apparently broken feet make you stupid.

The thing about having two broken feet and being in a wheelchair is – aside from the depression, random bitchiness and crying jags – is that random things come into your head, and you somehow momentarily forget the whole broken feet thing, and think “yeah, I gotta do that, like right now.”

There is the obvious stuff.  Like “that pile of crap is pissing me off, I’m going to clean it up.”  Because I’m sitting on my ass all the freaking time so I have a lot of time to look at things and get annoyed by them.  Normally piles of clutter aren’t a problem for me, because I have a million things that seem more interesting than cleaning it up. But when I don’t have anything to distract me, now they are irritating

And we have a new lounge for the deck.  Which totally needs to be oiled.  And I keep seeing it out the window, and thinking, ‘oh, I should go take care of that.”

In my defense, I don’t sit in the wheelchair during the day.  It’s a transportation thing, not furniture. So I have these thoughts when sitting on the sofa, or a chair, or in bed.

Other thoughts are totally random.  Like marshmallow fluff. My grandmother’s fudge recipe uses it, but we have an organic kitchen, and it shouldn’t be surprising that the local organic shop (“local” right, I shop at Whole Foods.  But it is local to me…) doesn’t carry this fine culinary product.  So I found a recipe, and thought, hey, I’ve got to order me some organic powdered egg whites and make some.  So I can make fudge.

And I was about to order some online, when I realized – Duh!  Doesn’t matter if I have all the ingredients, I can’t reach the counter.  For probably another month.

Just one other thing to add to the ever growing list of stuff I want to do and can’t wait till I’m able to.

Of course the number one thing on the list… Walking!!

I blame the marshmallow whip on the peanut butter and fluff sandwich that made a guest appearance on Rizzoli and Isles. I had never thought of such a thing...

About woodenmonkey

Just your average solar powered, hybrid driving, organic eating, happily married, pro-choice, feminist Christian artist and writer from San Francisco.

Posted on August 23, 2011, in ouch. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

