I’ll be the one in the cocktail dress having a panic attack.


Imagine this with less smoke, more feathers. And me - freaking out in the corner

Every year we throw a party.  A formal party.  Cocktail attire.  Wine.  Canapes.  Witty guests. Charming hosts. The husband wears a tux.  I’ve got a cocktail hat.  With feathers.  And a dress with sequins.

This is the twenty second year.

This is the first year I won’t be walking.  Which also means I won’t be cooking.  Or cleaning. Or moving furniture.  Or lighting candles.  Or, well, anything helpful.

And?  This isn’t a nice little party for an intimate group of our closest friends.  Currently we have 53 people attending.  And sixty people who haven’t rsvp’ed yet.  I’m now thrilled when someone sends their regrets.

Also?  We don’t have a large house.  Three bedrooms, one bathroom.  Small backyard.

So moving around on the wheelchair?  I’m not sure how that is going to work.

My brain hurts.

Though I do have a lovely dress.

Blouson Dress with Sequin Skirt

Um, I swear it looks longer on me. Maybe because I'm shorter than the model? Also, I won't be wearing super high heals. And it looks different when sitting in a wheelchair. Oh, wait, you have no idea what I look like. So ignore what I just said. I look *exactly* like this photo...

About woodenmonkey

Just your average solar powered, hybrid driving, organic eating, happily married, pro-choice, feminist Christian artist and writer from San Francisco.

Posted on October 26, 2011, in Retro post (which is another way of saying I forgot to post it when I wrote it). Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Ooh, I want to go to your party. That stinks that you will be in a wheelchair for it, though.

    • I want you to be at my party! You are officially invited. So hurry up and heal, and also invent a teleporter so you can get here without that silly airline flight. Do you have any sequins? If not, don’t worry, I’ve got a feather boa and some rhinestones you can throw on…

  2. Panic attacks wearing sequins are the best kind!

Leave a Reply

