All it took was twenty bottles of wine

Wine Bottles

The crazy thing is the husband and I only had a couple of glasses, five of our guests don't drink, and no one seemed drunk. Were are guests pouring it down the sink when we weren't looking?

So I’m in a much better mood.  Funny thing about pain and depression.  Totally overwhelming one day, and then slowly it is just whelming.

Wait, it isn’t whelming.  That would imply I’d been buried by water.  And while I did take a few hot showers trying to was the sadness off of me – which sadly didn’t work – I was never submerged.

But I’m feeling much better.  Though it took more than twenty bottles of wine.  It took fifty people helping me drink them.  While I wore silver sequins.

Something about being perched on a bar stool, with wonderful people bringing me appetizers, filling my wine glass, and chatting with the wonderful amazing people in my life… well, it is a huge reminder that this whole being in the wheelchair for months will someday end, and that I’m such a lucky woman.  It’s something easy to forget when I’m frustrated and depressed about not being able to walk since July.

But Saturday night, I was in my modest little house, with my husband who is also my best friend, with some friends I’ve known for over thirty years, and some I met in the last year – all of whom are intelligent, funny, caring people that I get to share my life with.

How amazing is that?

Five bottles of sparkling wine, five of white, ten of red, two non-alcoholic wines, about thirty bottles of bubbly water, two gallons of punch, and about one hundred and fifty candles. How could it not be fabulous?

About woodenmonkey

Just your average solar powered, hybrid driving, organic eating, happily married, pro-choice, feminist Christian artist and writer from San Francisco.

Posted on November 7, 2011, in Retro post (which is another way of saying I forgot to post it when I wrote it) and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. You are lucky to have so many friends. That’s wonderful!

  2. Where ARE you??! You’ve been quiet for far too long. Everything ok?

Leave a Reply

