My Doctor Has Low Expectations… and I meet them!

Today was my annual exam.  It’s confirmed, I have a heart and lungs and a pulse and blood pressure.

Also confirmed, my doctor has low expectations.

Me:  “What should my goal weight be?

Dr:  “Oh, you aren’t going to like the answer”

Me:  “How bad could it be?”

Dr:  “It’s about BMI rather than weight.  And they’ve changed the recommendations, they’re almost draconian.”

Me:  “Changed?  What are they?”

Dr:  “It used to be a BMI of 26 was okay, then it changed it to 25.  But now its supposed to be between 23 and 24.”

Me:  “Really?”

Dr:  “It’s almost impossible for someone your age.”

Me:  “I think I’ve got a BMI of 23.”

Dr:  (pauses to calculate)  “23.  You’re right.  So you’re good.”

Um…. I am so not living in a body at its ideal weight.  I should know, I’ve seen me naked…

About woodenmonkey

Just your average solar powered, hybrid driving, organic eating, happily married, pro-choice, feminist Christian artist and writer from San Francisco.

Posted on January 4, 2013, in people baffle me. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

